My First Listmania List!

12 Apr

So here’s my first foray into Amazon’s Listmania.  I’ve enjoyed reading them, but–like so many things–I only recently decided to do one of my own.  It’s called “Prehistoric Fiction That I Love.”

 

1. The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel        “The book that started the genre—at least in its current form.  First book in the Earth’s Children series and I recommend reading them all!”

2. The Year the Horses Came by Mary Mackey .  &nbs!
p;       
“This was my first encounter with peaceful, Goddess worshipping farmers clashing with violent, oppressive horsemen.  The first of an outstanding series, it influenced my writing, as well as my reading.

3. Daughter of the Goddess Lands by Sandra Saidak   “Despite all the great prehistoric fiction books I fell in love with, no one was writing the exact book I wanted to read.  So I wrote this one.  A different take on Goddess Worshipers meet patriarchic horsemen.” 

4. The Horsemasters by Joan Wolf     “Horsemen threaten egalitarian-minded hunters—but long before anyone thought the horse was domesticated.”

5. Dawn of Empire by Sam Barone    “This one is technically Bronze Age, later than the others—and that’s not all that’s different!  Definitely worth reading.”

6. Circle of Stones by Joan Dahl Lambert     “This one covers three very different eras of prehistory.  Outstanding research and believable characters (hard to do when you go back over a million years.)”

7. Mother Earth, Father Sky by Sue Harrison     “Beautiful storytelling amid beautiful scenery in prehistoric Alaska.”

8. People of the Mesa by Charlotte Prentiss     “The second book in a series set in prehistoric North America.  No need to read the first book to enjoy this one, but I recommend the entire series.”

9. Secrets of the Ancient Goddess by Brenda Gates Smith     “The first of two books.  I don’t know why the series stopped after the second, but if the author ever picks it up again, I’ll read it!”

10. Daughter of the Sun by Barbara Wood     “A unique tale about Toltec conquest and Anasazi resistance in the American Southwest”

11. Lady of Horses by Judith Tarr     “Rebellious woman in oppressive horse tribe dares to ride.  A fun read by a well known a fantasy author and horse lover.”

12. Hope of Earth by Piers Anthony     “Different from the others because it covers over a million years of human history.  Like James Michener, only better.”

2 Responses to “My First Listmania List!”

  1. sandra saidak November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am #

    Actually, my first attempt at writing a prehistoric novel showed the farmers/city folk as the aggressors against the peaceful hunter/gatherers. At that time, I firmly believed–and most of my research supported–that settled life and property led to fighting, injustice and the control of women. Then, in the 90s, beginning with Mary Mackey, we had a spate of Goddess-workshiping farmers vs. aggressive horsemen. So I adapted :)I will add that while horsemen are often admired for their love of freedom and love of nature, I have rarely seen them shown as "peaceful." One book I read went so far as to say that once you see the world from the back of a horse, everything that crawls on the ground (humans included) begins to look like prey.

  2. sabbathsoldier April 12, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Hey Sandy,Just to stir the pot:) There are historical analysis books like Daniel Quinn’s "Ishmael" that argue that it was the agriculturalists that were the aggressors against the mostly peaceful, nomadic "horse" cultures. Are there any prehistoric fiction books that take that position?

Leave a Reply

