From the Ashes is Selling; But is Anybody Reading it?

19 Sep

I’m delighted to report that in just over two months, From the Ashes has sold over 900 copies!

I’m also very confused.  I’ve gotten only a few reviews on Amazon (mostly positive, thank you all who posted!) none on Goodreads, and no chatter anywhere on the Internet that I can find.  After worrying extensively about negative feedback directed at both my gender and religion, and years of dreaming of passionate discussions (after all, I’ve been working on this project for nearly three decades!) the whole radio silence thing is hard to take 🙂

My entire Kalie’s Journey series, after selling for nearly four years, has never sold as much in a single month as From the Ashes has in the past two.  And this is without any advertising beyond Facebook and Goodreads!

So what’s going on?  Are there Alt-History fans out there who have their Kindles set to automatically buy anything with Alt-History in the title?  And then they read it later?  Or maybe the people who read this genre are not the type who enjoy writing reviews or starting discussion?  Whatever is going on, I’m loving the sales.  But I’m a bit lonely for some discussion.

Anyone with answers, please post!

11 Responses to “From the Ashes is Selling; But is Anybody Reading it?”

  1. Susan Richards September 26, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

    Thank you so much Sandra. I have just read all of your books except for, from the ashes, which I will begin today. What a wonderful treat. Having read Jean M Auel’s books over and over for years I never thought I would find anything that even comes close to her, but you have, and I sure hope you write another prehistoric series like Kalie’s journey and the seal queen. All lovely, indeed.
    Blessings,
    Susan

  2. pauldr44 October 25, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    Glad I found a place to communicate with you. I am reading your book Keepers of the Ancient Wisdom. I am interested in Prehistory and have been fascinated by the books about Goddess cultures and the rise of patriarchy. Your book brings this quest into focus in a most interesting way. I am wondering how you came to conceptualize those times and the people involved in ancient prehistoric struggles. Any particular books that you might recommend?

    I share your bewilderment about the lack of worthwhile feedback on the internet. It is a curious medium where people seem to adopt the demeanor of pedestrians on a crowded sidewalk. You dare not stop or pay too much attention no matter how interesting and compelling things are that you pass. It is just the nature of it, I guess.

    Thanks for writing interesting books.

    Paul Richards
    pauldr44@gmail.com

    • sandywriter2013 October 27, 2015 at 3:13 am #

      Thanks for the comment, Paul! I hope you’ve enjoyed the entire Kalie’s Journey series (I’m guessing you have, since you’ve made it to the last book.)

      To answer your questions, I’ve loved prehistory since I was young, and when I discovered Jean Auel, I fell in love with her books. During the long waits between books in her series, I began to work on a book of my own. (As you can see, it grew into several, as they often do) 🙂

      I recommend the EarthSong trilogy by Mary Mackey and the Epona series by Judith Tarr. Both authors inspired my own books.

      That’s an interesting metaphor you came up with, comparing internet users to pedestrians on a crowded sidewalk. I’ve never thought of it that way, but I must admit, it’s apt. I hope you will wander over to Amazon to review any of my books, or join the discussion someone started on my Author page (which has since fizzled out: back to your analogy). If not either of those, feel free to post your opinions here on this blog, as I’d love to know what you think of my books.

      • pauldr44 November 17, 2015 at 6:34 am #

        Thanks for the reply. I will look at EarthSong, it looks interesting. I am just beginning your books with the last one, but I will stop and start at the beginning and then finish it in sequence. Your work is much appreciated. Best, Paul

  3. sandywriter2013 November 28, 2015 at 10:35 pm #

    Paul–Interesting that you started the series with the last book. I’d be very interested in how Keepers of the Ancient Wisdom reads without the history built up in the first two. Please let me know what you think, and if you read the whole series, which book you like best. Happy Holidays!

  4. Earl Dinkler December 22, 2015 at 4:36 pm #

    I have an interest in most of the alt-hist genre, it makes for some fascinating what-ifs. One suggestion I would have concerning alt-hist involving Hitler and 1930’s Germany is that all of them seem to start with Hitler winning the war. Not being a writer, my idea isn’t something I can put into action, but;
    How about a scenario where a British diplomats idea in the early ’30’s, that Hitler could easily be shot from his (the Diplomat’s) apartment building complex, while giving his weekly harangues at the Reich Stadium in Nuremberg actually happens. The Weimar Republic survives, barely, in the same way that Britain and the U.S. survive the Global Depression of the ’30’s (it wasn’t just the U.S. folks!), barely. And that WWII starts with the invasion of Poland, which it did in reality, but this invasion is of Poland by the USSR, who got tired of waiting for the Poles to change their minds about Communism. Poland, in sheer desperation turn to an old sometime ally-sometime enemy, the Germans, for help. The conflict escalates into WWII, but shifted further East, with the Allies, Germany, Britain, U.S. fighting the Communist Hordes, and the bitter Russian Winter. All the while worried about getting stabbed in the back by France, who can’t make up its mind to join the Allies or the Communists, or just stay neutral.
    Sorry for the rambling, but I have served in the U.S. Army in Germany alongside the Bundeswehr, and know the Germans see us as a natural ally, and have for the last 50 years, it seemed a natural extension.

    • sandywriter2013 December 29, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

      Great idea! I’d like to read it (that’s my way of saying I probably couldn’t write it.) But maybe you should consider it, Earl. You say you’re not a writer, but neither was I when I started 🙂

      • Michael FitzGerald July 11, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

        Dear Ms Saidak.

        I honestly don’t know why some books get lots of reviews and others seem to pass unnoticed.

        I think ‘From the Ashes’ is a fine and highly original idea and deserves to be praised as an excellent example of alternate history.

        I’m a writer of non-fiction (history mainly) and my first novel is being published by Moonshine Cove in October 2016.

        It’s an alternate history thriller called “Payback” and it’s set in Rome, 1938, when Bugsy Siegel and a US agent join forces on a mission to assassinate Hitler which has unforeseen consequences for world peace.
        Because you are the author of “From the Ashes,” which could be placed in a similar genre, I thought you might be interested in commenting on my book. I am not requesting a complete review, just one to three sentences giving your general opinion of the book. You probably won’t need to read the entire work, just enough to form some general impressions. Of course, if you prefer reading it all the way through in order to write a more complete review, please do so and please post it on Amazon after the book is published.
        I intend to use your comments in one or more of the following ways: back cover blurbs, front page comments, press releases, one-sheet summations and web site promotion. In order to meet my publisher’s schedule, I need to receive your comments within two weeks. If you are able to comment, I would be pleased to comment on a future book that you might write.
        I’d be happy to enclose a synopsis of “Payback” or a sample if you were interested.
        E-mail me if you are willing to comment at: mikefitz@lycos.com. I will attach the file to a return e-mail. A list of my other books is here:
        1 Alien Arrival: Salvation or Destruction, Schiffer Books, 2015
        2 The Nazi Occult War, Arcturus Publishing, 2013
        3 Ragged London: The Story of London’s Poor, History Press, 2011
        4 Hitler’s Occult War, Robert Hale, 2009
        5 The Making of Modern Streatham, History Press, 2009
        6 Adolf Hitler: A Portrait, Spellmount, 2006 (hardback), 2007 (paperback)
        7 Storm Troopers of Satan, Robert Hale, 1990; Tokoma Shoten, 1992 (Japanese translation)
        Thank you for your consideration.
        Michael FitzGerald
        mikefitz@lycos.com
        http://mikefitzuk.wordpress.com/
        http://mikefitzauthor.blogspot.com/
        @mikefitzauthor.twitter.com

  5. sandywriter2013 July 14, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    Michael, I sent you an e-mail, but it was returned (failure demon). I couldn’t find a way to contact you through your blog, so, in case you check back here…Yes, I’d be interested in reading the synopsis and a chapter or two of payback. My e-mail is sandywriter@yahoo.com

    • mikefitzuk July 14, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks, Sandy. I just sent you an e-mail with the synopsis and sample chapters.
      No idea why your e-mail didn’t get through; it happens sometimes!

      • sandywriter2013 July 18, 2016 at 11:49 pm #

        Hi again, Mike. I’d prefer a less public way to communicate, but once again, my e-mail to you wouldn’t go through. And this time, all I did was hit reply. I’ll copy what I wrote here, and you can still use my address to reply to me. Great book!

        First of all, I really like this story, and I’d be interested in reading the whole thing when it comes out. Out of curiosity, can you tell me if the Jewish mobsters breaking up the Bund meeting at the beginning was based on real events? Strangely, despite the many decades since it happened, and my own (usually) non-violent stand, that scene made me proud. If that was real, I want my students to know about it–and certain family members as well.

        I don’t normally review a book if I haven’t read it through to the end, but there’s plenty I can genuinely say about Payback from just three chapters, so here goes:

        “A thrilling new entry in the genre of alt-history. In Payback, a successful assassination of Hitler gives Mussolini a frighteningly real chance at world domination. Real historical figures blend seamlessly with fiction ones, and everyone is believable.”

        Or maybe:

        “In the long tradition of Axis victories in the Alt-History genre, Italy is often overlooked. Michael Fitzgerald changes that with Payback, a novel filled with strong characters, excellent research and surprising twists and turns.”

        I hope one of those will work, as this will be my first time endorsing a novel as a published author 🙂

        BTW, did you read From the Ashes? I didn’t see your name on any of the reviews (not that that means anything’; people write under different names all the time). But if you read it, I’d love to hear what you thought.

Leave a Reply

